Portuguese Parody Viral Song into a Protest of Austerity:

The Brazilian song “Ai Se Eu Te Pego” in recent months has exploded into one those songs that defy all language barriers, a song ending up on the football pitch, basketball court, and settings in between. You would have to be living under a rock to have missed it. After listening to it, you might be grateful to that rock:

“Wow, Wow
like this you’ll kill me
Oh, if I catch you,
Oh, oh if I catch you

Delicious, delicious
like this you’ll kill me
Oh, if I catch you,
Oh, oh if I catch you

Saturday at the party
The crowd started dancing
And the most beautiful girl passed by
I grabbed courage and started to speak

Wow, Wow
like this you’ll kill me
Oh, if I catch you,
Oh, oh if I catch you

Delicious, delicious
like this you’ll kill me
Oh, if I catch you,
Oh, oh if I catch you”

Granted, not the best lyrics ever assembled, but the parody by Portuguese protesting the Troika (IMF, European Commission, European Central Bank) got a little bit closer with their parody:

Troika, Troika,
Like this you’ll kill me
oh, I am to pay
oh, oh I am to pay

Debt, debt
like this you’ll kill me
oh, I am to pay
oh, oh I am to pay

Saturday in the parliament
the Troika started commanding
and passed a law most beautiful
and without blame I started paying

Troika, Troika,
Like this you’ll kill me
oh, I am to pay
oh, oh I am to pay

Angela [Merkel], Angela,
Like this you’ll kill me
oh, I am to pay
oh, oh I am to pay

Saturday in the parliament
Everyone starting cutting [the budget],
and passed a law most beautiful
and without guitly a started paying

Angela [Merkel}, Angela,
Like this you’ll kill me
oh, I am to pay
oh, oh I am to pay

Debt, debt
like this you’ll kill me
oh, I am to pay
oh, oh I am to pay

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

